How “Yarn Bomb Tree” Came To Be

30 Jul

This painting Yarn Bomb Tree was inspired by the trees in Austin who have been lovingly covered in colorful, knitted yarn. These photos illustrate the transformation of this particular painting with process shots. The final result is found at the bottom of this post, or on Judy’s website.

Enjoy!

-Hannah

1

2

3

4

5

Yarn Bomb Tree

“Yarn Bomb Tree” by Judy Paul

6 Responses to “How “Yarn Bomb Tree” Came To Be”

  1. Chris Butler August 10, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

    Back in my Gayla Sue days, we put contact paper on trees — patterns of brick, etc. It got her through art school, 40 years ago.

    • judypaul August 19, 2013 at 5:49 pm #

      Hi Chris! I like that contact paper idea! Thanks for your comments!

  2. bluecloth August 16, 2013 at 2:51 am #

    I love your artwork, it is so inspiring. Yarn Bomb Tree is colorful, happy and full of life. My heart is full and I am enjoying your blog so much. Thanks

    • judypaul August 19, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

      Hi Blue Cloth, Thank you for your kind words! I’m glad you like Yarn Bomb Tree!

  3. Janet August 16, 2013 at 3:25 am #

    Judy – this collaged painting is simply beautiful! It holds everything I love: birds, owls, trees, leaves, rich color, collaged elements and textiles in the element of yarn. I love that it captures the public art movement too.

    • judypaul August 19, 2013 at 5:47 pm #

      Thank you Janet! I’m glad you like it and that you found me! You’re encouragement keeps me going! Email me when you come back to Austin!

Leave a Reply

